JPS Receives WNY Educational Service Council Awards Honoring Board of Education Member & Staff


Joe DiMaio

Jamestown Public Schools Board of Education President Joe DiMaio, JPS Director of Schools, Tina Sandstrom, and Jefferson Middle School ISS Paraprofessional, Ginny Lovvorn, recently learned they will be honored at the Western New York Educational Service Council’s (WNYESC) 10th Annual Awards Banquet on April 30th. Mr. DiMaio will receive the Award of Excellence for Board of Education Member. Mrs. Sandstrom will be honored with the Award of Excellence for Administration and Mrs. Lovvorn will receive the Award for Excellence for Support Staff Services.

The awards will be given out at the 10th Annual Awards for Excellence program honoring teachers, support staff, administrators and Board of Education members. Nominations highlight how the nominee demonstrated dedication and exemplary service to the district and the regional educational community, how the individual demonstrated leadership, how did he or she make a difference in the district, and why he or she is an outstanding member of the district.

Ginny Lovvorn

Tina Sandstrom

“Jamestown Public Schools is very proud of Mr. DiMaio, Mrs. Sandstrom and Mrs. Lovvorn,” said JPS Superintendent Tim Mains. “Mr. DiMaio is a long-standing member of our Board of Education who has volunteered countless hours to ensuring the success of Jamestown Schools. We are so pleased that Mr. DiMaio will receive this award in honor of his dedication and service to JPS. We also know that our staff is extraordinary, but it is gratifying when an outside organization, such as WNYESC, recognizes the excellence of our employees. Mrs. Sandstrom and Mrs. Lovvorn exemplify the high-quality work of our administration and support services that all JPS employees strive to achieve. Congratulations to all three on a well-deserved honor.”

WNYESC is a non-profit educational organization affiliated with SUNY at Buffalo representing 70 school districts in an eight county region. For the 10th consecutive year, it has sponsored an Excellence Recognition Program for support staff, teachers, administrators, superintendents, and board of education members. Those honored for this recognition have all had a very positive impact on their schools and school districts and the students they serve.


posted on 04/23/2015 - filed under: Board of Education, Spotlight, Staff