42 JHS Students Inducted into National Honor Society Last Night

Forty-two Jamestown High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society at a ceremony last night in the auditorium. As per a long-standing school tradition, a teacher or community member introduced each new inductee during the ceremony.

Students are selected for the National Honor Society based on numerous criteria including: GPA, a completed application listing their activities and community service hours, a short paragraph describing why they want to be a member of the National Honor Society, and a faculty evaluation based on character and leadership qualities.

This year’s National Honor Society inductees were: seniors: Sami Bertch, Christian Edborg, Chrisanna Green, Elizabeth Indriolo, Zachary Panebianco, Joseph Ramos,
Matthew Sherman and Amber Yanik and juniors: Sonia Angeli, Tage Boggs, Allison Boskat, Alexa Brightman, Ericka Correa, Sydney Deppas, Jacob Dietzel, Madison Dineen, Matthew Elia, Lucinda Ellis, Avery Georgakis, Nikkolas Holland, Elizabeth Houser, Cameron Hurst, Emily Isaacson, Luke Kindberg, Matthew Marsh, Megan Marsh, Abigail Merchant, Molly Morse, Keiona Nance, Griffin Noon, Chiara Raimondo, Alyssa Russo, Jacob Samuelson, Caylee Shelters, Alex Simmons, Paige Stafford, Andrea Swiderski, Abigail Todaro, Kate Tucker, Karighan Walker-Alicea, Aaron Watson and Emily Whitney.

In addition to outstanding academic achievement, the JHS National Honor Society participated in over 50 community service projects last year including: Special Olympics, Hands on Jamestown, elementary school fun fairs, and many local charity events. The Honor Society members have a tutoring/mentoring program established at JHS for students in need of support and held a Teacher Appreciation Breakfast at the end of last school year.

posted on 05/01/2015 - filed under: Academics, JHS, Parents, Spotlight, Students