Jamestown PTAs Donate Books in Honor of Board of Education Members

Jamestown City Council PTA honored the Jamestown Board of Education at their last meeting by donating a book in each member’s name to a Jamestown school library for National School Board Recognition Week and the Thanksgiving holiday. The Jamestown Board of Education members are: Paul Abbott, Patrick Slagle, Dan Johnson, Nina Karbacka, Shelly Leathers, Joe Pawelski and Christine Schnars.

“This is wonderful. Thank you to all the students who came tonight and to the PTA,” said JPS Board of Education Vice President Patrick Slagle. “We are here because of you. These are wonderful books and I think they match our personalities – I love Harry Potter. Thank you, it was a really wonderful gesture by our PTAs.”

Based on a survey the PTA send to Board of Education members, each PTA was assigned a board of education representative to build a partnership with parents and the board. The PTAs keeps their assigned representative updated on what is happening at their school and also invites them to meetings and other PTA functions. The list of PTA Board Representatives is:

JHS PTSA – Paul Abbott

Jefferson PTA – Joseph Pawelski

Washington PTA – Nina Karbacka

Persell PTA – Nita Walter (JPS District Clerk)

Lincoln PTA – Dan Johnson

Love PTA – Christine Schnars

Bush PTA – Patrick Slagle

Ring PTA – Shelly Leathers

Fletcher PTA – Bret Apthorpe (JPS Superintendent)

posted on 11/16/2017 - filed under: Board of Education, PTA, Spotlight