JPS 2017-18 School Budget/School Board Elections Information

Please find below results for the Jamestown Public Schools 2017-18 Budget Vote & School Board Elections:

Budget Vote:
YES: 504   
NO:  106

Bus Proposition:
YES: 498
NO:  109

School Board Elections (3 Seats Open, each for a 3-year term):

Paul Abbott:  459
Fannell Leeper:  247
Frank Galeazzo:  249
Rachelle “Shelly” Leathers: 376
Christine Schnars: 343


JPS 2017-18 Proposed Budget

2017-18 JPS Budget Newsletter

2017-18 JPS Budget Postcard

Jamestown City Council PTSA Candidate’s Forum Opening Remarks

JPS Board of Education Candidate Bios

Fiscal Accountability Supplement

District Report Card

For more information on the JPS 2017-18  Budget process, please see the links in the “Resources” to your left. As information becomes available, it will be added to this page.

The 2017-18 School Budget Vote and School Board Elections will be held on Tuesday, May 16, 2017 from noon to 9 p.m.  A public hearing regarding the 2017-18 Budget will be held on May 9, 2017 at 6 p.m. at Persell Middle School.

There are three Board of Education seats up for vote at the May 16th election.

If a person is not registered to vote in the May 16th election, the District Clerk is available to register any eligible voter between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. any weekday beginning April 1, 2017  through May 2, 2017 in the Administration Building, 197 Martin Road, Jamestown, New York.  Anyone who is not registered with Chautauqua County Board of Elections should present themselves, in person, before the JPS District Clerk with proof of identity and proof of address in order to be entitled to vote on May 16, 2017.  Applications are also available for Absentee Voting. The application forms and instructions may be obtained in the Superintendent’s Office. Any questions about the Board of Education petition process, voter registration or absentee voting applications can be directed to 483-4420.

The Jamestown Board of Education welcomes comments or suggestions on the 2017-18 School Budget. Please email comments to: or the Superintendent of Schools, Syliva A. Root at